CHICAGO RIB SHACK Review, Clapham

Located under a railway track, the curved walls of Chicago Rib Shack in Clapham boast a stylish, modern take on the classic American Diner. However, if South London seems a bit far, the good news is they’re cropping up everywhere; most recently opening a smaller version in the Stratford Westfield’s food court.

The menu hosts all the classics; ribs, wings, mac n cheese – and all cooked and smoked to perfection. I ordered half a rack of baby back bbq ribs with fries, slaw  and on portion of bacon mac n cheese and buffalo wings on the side (i know).

The bbq ribs were succulent and fell off the bone, the fries were crispy and the slaw was perfect – not too soggy and not too dry. The sides did not disappoint either; the juicy buffalo wings were some of the tastiest i’ve tried. The bacon mac n cheese was another hit; creamy, cheesy and scattered with small pieces of crispy bacon. It’s safe to say this is one of the best American-style meals I have been to, and I do not say that lightly.

In addition, this place has the best range of sauces I’ve ever witnessed – and – they’re free. As a mayo-worshipper, I asked the waitress if she could bring me some and was asked what type i’d like. She then proceeded to read out a list of different homemade mayonnaises  including garlic mayo, baconaisse, chilli mayo, lemon mayo etc (i KNOW).

IMG_8080 2.PNG

The best thing about this restaurant? The price. Considering the amount I ordered; my meal totalled £15 – and that’s with me forgetting to ask for my student discount. Chicago Rib not only accepts student discount but also has great deals from Monday -Thursday including Wing Wednesdays, 50% on Mondays and Burger Thursdays – sounds too good to be true!

My conclusion? If this post and that picture haven’t convinced you, I don’t know what will. Head down to one of their branches and let me know what you think! xx

Leave a Reply

