NYX Must Haves – Including Bobbi Brown, NARS & MAC dupes!

fullsizerender-1
Matte Bronzer, Mosaic Powder, HD Finishing Powder, Soft Matte Lip Creams, Nude Matte Eye Shadows, Lip Liner, Matte Finish Setting Spray & HD Studio Concealer

If you want high end make-up with a drugstore price tag then look no further than the isles of your local NYX counter in Boots. Best known for their Soft Matte Lip Creams, NYX is an American brand that has recently taken the UK by storm. Their wide range of products and shades does not compromise price or quality – I have even discovered two excellent dupes for two of my must-have NARS and Bobbi Brown Products! Read on…

1. Soft Matte Lip Cream and Slide on Lip Pencil

fullsizerender-2
NYX Slide On Lip Pencil in ‘Sugar Glass’, NYX Matte Lip Creams in ‘London’ and ‘Abu Dhabi’

If you don’t know about the Soft Matte Lip Creams, where have you been?! They’re featured on just about every Makeup Youtube channel on the planet. However, I feel the need to reiterate just how excellent these are. Retailing at £5.50, they offer an astounding range of matte colours that are soft on the lips and non-drying. My two personal favourites, and perfect nudes are ‘London’ and ‘Abu Dhabi’ (London is slightly more pink than AD). I am NC30 for reference of skin tone but nevertheless, these would look great on any skin colour. In addition, London is said to be a dupe for Kylie’s ‘Exposed’ Matte Liquid Lipstick! The lipliners are smooth, pigmented and matte – a definite cheaper alternative to the MAC lipliners as these also retail at £5.50! The colour I chose was Sugar Glass which is a gorgeous subtle brown nude.

2. HD Studio Photogenic Concealer

img_2266FullSizeRender-6.jpg

If you love NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer and want something JUST as creamy, pigmented and blend-able then this is your product! I picked this up on a whim purely because I was tired of how quickly I was getting through my NARS concealer considering it’s price tag. In addition, I had tried all the well known so-called dupes of it such as Maybeline Fit Me and Maybeline Eye Erasing Concealer – they just weren’t the same. This NYX concealer however, is the perfect, cheaper match and I haven’t gone back to NARS since! I use the shade 04 and believe this is the perfect match to NARS Creamy Concealer in Custard.

3. Matte Bronzer and Mosaic Powder Blush

fullsizerender-5
Matte Bronzer in Medium – perfect dupe for Bobbi Brown Golden Light

I have always been a huge fan of a Matte Bronzer with no shimmer. I use my Bobbi Brown bronzer in Golden Light religiously to warm up my cheeks, forehead, contour and even in the crease of my eyelid. So far, I have failed to find a subtle warm-toned bronzer that effectively carries out all of these jobs as effortlessly as Bobbi Brown. That was, of course, until I recently purchased NYX’s Matte bronzer in Medium. The same perfect and smooth matte finish that doesn’t look too overdone nor too cool-toned. In addition, BB retails at £28.50 and NYX…just £7! This brand is almost too good to be true.

If you like a bit of shimmer and bronze, then the Mosaic Powder Blush is a beautiful compact that gives you a fresh-tan look. I prefer to use this in the summer as it is considerably more glittery and warm-toned than the matte bronzer. Despite being named a ‘blush’ the shade ‘Truth’ that I picked up, is definitely more along the lines of a bronzer – beautiful nevertheless!

4. Nude Matte Eyeshadows

fullsizerender-3
Nude Eyeshadows in ‘Blame it on Midnight’ and ‘Lap Dance’ and the Matte Bronzer in shade ‘Medium’

These eyeshadows are creamy and pigmented. I chose two shades (theres a large range of colours) from the matte range. I use the tan “Blame it on Midnight’ to cancel out any discolouration on my eyelids and to ensure a clean base before applying other colours and “Lap Dance” on the inner corner and middle of my eyelid to produce a perfect light beige colour across the lid. The pots retail at around £4 and there is plenty  of product in each pot to last you for ages!

5. HD Finishing Powder and Matte Setting Spray

FullSizeRender-4.jpg
Matte Finish Spray

Firstly, the HD Finishing Powder. I chose this powder in the colour ‘Banana’ (as pictured at the top of the page) because I dislike the greyish finish most translucent powders give off, particularly in photographs. This powder on the other hand is lightweight but provides good coverage and is particularly good for setting and brightening the under-eye. It is a pressed powder but works just as well as any loose powder I have used to set my concealer. Best applied with a large fluffy brush.

Matte Finishing Powder – does what it says on the tin. A long-lasting, matte spray that keeps your makeup perfect all day. A much cheaper alternative to MAC Fix Plus or Urban Decay All-Nighter, at just £7.

To summarise, if you’re looking for cheaper alternatives to your favourite high end beauty products but don’t want to compromise quality then a NYX counter should be your next stop! I am surprised that some of these products don’t retail any higher considering they match the quality, shade-range and pigmentation of most high-end products! Hope you enjoyed this post and do comment below with your experiences of NYX! xx

2 thoughts on “NYX Must Haves – Including Bobbi Brown, NARS & MAC dupes!

Leave a Reply

